High Limit Racing

  • 1


Watch LIVE On Flo

LATE-DAY MAGIC: Corey Day Pounces on Chase Randall in Final Laps at I-70 for Fourth High Limit Win of 2024


Kubota High Limit Racing

LATE-DAY MAGIC: Corey Day Pounces on Chase Randall in Final Laps at I-70 for Fourth High Limit Win of 2024

A 45-day and 13-race winless streak was snapped on Friday night at Odessa, Missouri's I-70 Speedway as Corey Day won the opening night of the Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race.

Coming from the fourth position, the Clovis, CA native quickly took the Jason Meyers Racing, Sander Engineering #14 to the second spot and trailed early leader Chase Randall for the majority of the 25-lapper at the 1/2-mile.

With lap traffic in play and clogging the leaders' preferred line, the deciding moment of the race came on Lap 20 when Day was able to rocket out of turn two and fly around the outside of Randall's TKS Motorsports #2KS to steal the lead as they came to the five-to-go signal.

From there, the 18-year-old held his own in traffic and survived to collect his first win since April 23 at Riverside (AR). It's their fourth trip to Whiskey Myers Victory Lane this season, and makes it nine different winners in the last nine races with Kubota High Limit Racing.

Brad Sweet, who had previously never lost at I-70 - sweeping a World of Outlaws weekend in 2021 - followed him with a P2 finish thanks to a last-lap, last-corner pass aboard the Kasey Kahne Racing, NAPA Auto Parts #49. The championship leader now owns a 61-point advantage following his 11th podium and the misfortune for Tyler Courtney, who DNF'ed for the first time this season.

After leading the opening 19 laps, Waco, TX native Chase Randall rounded out the podium with a career-best P3 finish with Kubota High Limit Racing. In the hunt for the Knoxville Raceway track championship, his TKS team will head to Iowa on Saturday night.

With Randall forfeiting his lock-in spot, Brian Brown of Higginsville, MO is slated to assume that position as the third-highest finishing car that returns on Saturday. Meaning, Day, Sweet and Brown would lock-in to Heat Races and bypass Capitol Renegade Qualifying.

Closing out the top-10 at I-70 was Spencer Bayston, Zeb Wise, James McFadden, Brent Marks, Justin Peck, and Rico Abreu.

I-70 Speedway (Odessa, MO)

Capitol Custom Trailers QuickTime - Brian Brown (13.689 seconds)
TJ Forged Heat One Winner - Corey Day
DMI Heat Two Winner - Zeb Wise
BR Motorsports Heat Three Winner - Brad Sweet
FK Rod Ends Dash Winner - Brian Brown
Winters Performance B-Main Winner - Hunter Schuerenberg
Jake's Golf Carts Fastest Lap Award - Chase Randall (14.801 seconds)
Hard Charger - Tanner Thorson +12, 23rd-to-11th
Lap Leaders - Randall 1-19; Day 20-25.

Kubota A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 14-Corey Day[4]; 2. 49-Brad Sweet[3]; 3. 2KS-Chase Randall[2]; 4. 21-Brian Brown[1]; 5. 5-Spencer Bayston[8]; 6. 26-Zeb Wise[6]; 7. 83-James McFadden[16]; 8. 19-Brent Marks[7]; 9. 13-Justin Peck[5]; 10. 24-Rico Abreu[9]; 11. 88-Tanner Thorson[23]; 12. 8-Cory Eliason[18]; 13. 39M-Anthony Macri[17]; 14. 42-Sye Lynch[14]; 15. 1A-Jacob Allen[21]; 16. 3-Ayrton Gennetten[22]; 17. 55-Chris Windom[20]; 18. 9P-Parker Price Miller[11]; 19. 1-Brenham Crouch[13]; 20. 9-Kasey Kahne[15]; 21. 12X-Roger Crockett[10]; 22. 45X-Jace Park[24]; 23. 7BC-Tyler Courtney[12]; 24. 19H-Hunter Schuerenberg[19]

Updated Championship Standings (After 22/54 Races):

  1. Kasey Kahne Racing #49 - Brad Sweet (1,477)
  2. Clauson-Marshall Racing #7BC - Tyler Courtney (-61)
  3. Murray-Marks Motorosports #19 - Brent Marks (-109)
  4. Jason Meyers Racing #14 - Corey Day (-192)
  5. Rico Abreu Racing #24 - Rico Abreu (-229)
  6. Roth Motorsports #83 - James McFadden (-300)
  7. CJB Motorsports #5 - Spencer Bayston (-315)
  8. Buch Motorsports #13 - Justin Peck (-325)
  9. PPM Racing #9P - Parker Price-Miller (-342)
  10. Rudeen Racing #26 - Zeb Wise (-424)
  11. Rod Gross Motorsports #88 - Tanner Thorson (-458)
  12. Shark Racing #1A - Jacob Allen (-505)
  13. Ridge & Sons Racing #8 - Cory Eliason (-517)
  14. Kasey Kahne Racing #9 - Kasey Kahne (-574)
  15. Vermeer Motorsports #55 - Chris Windom (-600)
  16. Crouch Motorsports #1 - Brenham Crouch (-694)

UP NEXT: The Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race concludes tomorrow - Saturday, June 8 - with a $26,000-to-win, $1,500-to-start show for Kubota High Limit Racing at I-70 Speedway in Odessa, Missouri.

Article Credit: Brian Walker

Back to News
Capital Renegade
Flo Racing
Driven To Save Lives
Hasty Bake
Dirt Draft
TJ Forged
BR Motorsports
Kahne Screenprinting
Racing Electronics
Fan Gate Solutions
Cometic Gaskets
Comp Cams
FK Rod Ends
Hendrick Cars
Hoosier Tire
Jakes Golf Carts
Musco Lighting
Winter Performance
Frozen Farmer
Whiskey Myers
Honest Abe Roofing
Rayce Ruden Foundation